You are here: Home / messages of solidarity / 2008 / December / 16


Dec 16, 2008

FoEI welcomes eight new members to the federation

by PhilLee — last modified Dec 16, 2008 03:10 PM

We are delighted to announce our new members and executive committee as voted in by our current members at this year's Biennial General Meeting in Honduras.

meena-nnimmoAt our Biennial General Meeting in Honduras this November the Palestinian Environmental NGO Network became a full member of Friends of the Earth International (FoEI) and eight new groups were admitted as associate members. A new chairperson and executive committee were also voted in.


Friends of the Earth Palestine / PENGON

PENGON is a network of 21 member organizations dealing with environmental issues such as; agriculture, water, health and sanitation, sustainable development, cultural heritage, human rights, pollution, wildlife, research and development. They are a welcome addition to the Friends of the Earth family.


Find out more about Friends of the Earth Palestine


associate members

We are also pleased to welcome the following eight new groups to the federation:


Liberia - find out more

Malawi - find out more

Mexico - find out more

Mozambique - find out more

Tanzania - find out more

Timor Leste - find out more

Sri Lanka - find out more

Uganda - find out more



Nnimmo Bassey the Executive Director of Friends of the Earth Nigeria has been elected as the Chairperson.


In his acceptance speech to the members present in Honduras he highlighted the unique period in history we are in:


"We stand at the crossroads of history with the scaffoldings erected by capitalism and neo-liberalism collapsing like a pack of cards. No matter how many people live a lie, the lie remains a lie.


People may decide to live in the imaginations of their minds, but the truth is that sooner than later the reality knocks us back to concrete challenges. We stand at a crossroads, but we must take the right turn and FoEI is well positioned to take the lead in that march."


executive committee (Excom)

Finally, congratulations to the new and existing members of the ExCom who will guide the federation in the right direction over the next two years.


Karin Nansen - FoE Uruguay, Vice-Chairperson

Jagoda Munic - FoE Croatia, Treasurer

Meena Raman - FoE Malaysia

Mario Godinez - FoE Guatemala

Rizwana Hasan - FoE Bangladesh

Bobby Peek - FoE South Africa
Sarah Jayne Clifton - FoE England, Wales and Northern Ireland
Elizabeth Bast - FoE US


Photo: Meena Raman, the outgoing chairperson, stands alongside Nnimmo Bassey the incoming chairperson.