You are here: Home / Resources / publications / annual report / annual report 2008 / what we achieved in 2008 / program highlights / international activities / December: worst eu lobbying awards ceremony

December: worst eu lobbying awards ceremony

On 9 December, the winners of the 2008 Worst EU Lobbying Awards - organized by FoE Europe, Corporate Europe Observatory, Lobbycontrol and Spinwatch - were revealed at a ceremony co-presented by British activist and comedian Mark Thomas. More than 8,500 people took part in the online public vote.

One of the candidates for the Worst Conflict of Interest Award, suspended European Commission official Fritz-Harald Wenig, tried to silence the Worst EU Lobbying Awards by taking legal action to have his name removed from the nominations and not mentioned during the Worst Lobbying Awards ceremony. The court ruled that freedom of speech was more important in this case.

And the winners were ...

  • Worst EU Lobbying 2008 - the award was shared by three agrofuel lobbyists, the Malaysian Palm Oil Council, Brazilian sugar barons UNICA and energy company Abengoa Bioenergy for their use of misleading information and greenwash.
  • Worst Conflict of Interest Award 2008 - the award was richly deserved by Finnish MEP Piia-Noora Kauppi, who promoted interests of her future employer, a banking lobbying group, while still an active member of the European Parliament.

To read more about the winners, the runners up, and the stories behind the nominations, go to:


Document Actions